September 22, 2021

IHSA: Goss receiving Distinguished Media Service Award

June 6, 2018


JOLIET – The Illinois High School Association will recognize IHSA Distinguished Media Service Award winner Dick Goss, the 35-year sports editor of The Herald-News, at the Class 4A baseball state finals on Saturday at Joliet Route 66 Stadium.

Goss was named to the fifth class of recipients of the IHSA Distinguished Media Service Award in September and will formally receive his award prior to the Class 4A state championship game, at approximately 4:30 p.m.

He is among three receiving the award this school year. The others are longtime Effingham broadcaster Greg Sapp and veteran reporter and gymnastics writer Bill Stone.

Goss was hired as a part-time sportswriter for The Herald-News by then-sports editor Bob Drazkowski while he was a student at Joliet Catholic. After attending the University of Illinois and getting an accounting degree, he covered sports part-time at the State Journal-Register in Springfield from 1973-78 before joining that paper's staff full-time. He returned to The Herald-News in 1983 as its sports editor and has been in that role since.

The IHSA Distinguished Media Service Award was created to recognize media members who have covered high school sports and activities in Illinois for a significant period of time, while maintaining perspective on the amateur events they report on. In the five years that the prestigious award has been awarded, only 17 have received it, including IHSA broadcaster Dave Bernhard, a longtime freelance sports reporter for The Herald-News.

“I grew up reading Dick’s work and he always gave high school sports the big-time treatment," IHSA Assistant Executive Director Matt Troha said. "At its peak, The Herald-News had arguably the best preps sports section in the country under Dick’s guidance."

IHSA member schools submitted nominations for the award, with Providence Catholic and Effingham nominating Goss and Sapp, respectively. Stone was nominated by both Hinsdale Central and Palatine.

The IHSA’s media advisory committee, and a veteran committee of retired media members, voted on each nominee. Those who received the required percentage of votes were named honorees with a limit of one winner per IHSA Board Division.

“A vital element of this award is the recognition within the community,” Troha said. “We look forward to winners being recognized in front of the students, coaches and communities they have impacted with their exceptional work.”