September 22, 2021

Record Newspapers' editorial staff wins 6 NINA awards

The Record Newspapers' editorial staff captured six awards in the 2017 Northern Illinois Newspaper Association contest. Awards were announced during NINA's annual banquet held Thursday evening at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb.

In the contest's best in-depth news story category, Tony Scott (pictured), Record Newspapers news editor, won first place in the non-daily newspaper category for an article published last February to mark the 10 year anniversary of the deaths of five Oswego/Montgomery area teenagers in a crash involving a drunk driver.

Scott also won third place for Best Meeting Coverage in the non-daily newspapers category for his work last fall in covering the Kendall County Ethics Commission.

John Etheredge, editor of the Record Newspapers, earned third place honors in the Best General Feature Story competition in the non-daily newspaper category for a feature story he wrote last August on how public school supply lists have changed over the years.

Etheredge also won third place honors in the contest's Best Editorial category for non-daily newspapers for an editorial he wrote concerning the sentencing to prison of former U.S. Speaker of the House Dennis Hastert, R-Plano, in April of 2016.

Roger Matile, who marked his 40th year as a columnist earlier this year, won third place honors for his columns in the contest's Best Columnist category for non-daily newspapers.

Another regular contributor to the Record Newspapers, Steven Buyansky, won a third place award in the Best Feature Photo in the non-daily category for a photo he took last December during a Yorkville Christmas event.

The contest was judged by current and former NIU Department of Communications staff members and other media professionals.

NINA has been serving the journalists and educators in Northern Illinois in conjunction with the Communication Department of Northern Illinois University for 55 years.